Built in 890, the Castle of Felino has been expanded and strengthened in the following centuries. It reaches its peak in the mid-fourteenth century under the powerful family of Rossi. In 1483 it won by Ludovico il Moro making it pave the fortified structures.
Rebuilt again, it passes under the domain of families Pallavicino, Sforza, Farnese that complement the residential structure. The massive building is surrounded by a moat, with four corner towers and a beautiful courtyard.
Today, after a long restoration prestigious venue for banquets, exhibitions and conferences. In the underground it is under construction Museum of Salame. The Castle of Felino is open only partly (outer walls, courtyard, underground). The guided tours are by reservation.
Inside the Castle of Felino there are service bar and restaurant “Locanda della Moiana”. On the occasion of banquets, weddings, the castle could not be visited: it is recommended to phone before going on site.
The village of Felino, built in the hills of Parma, still retains traces: there are witnesses Castle, already documented in the twelfth century and refined during the restoration of the XV, the Tower of river stone, the Deacon Church , founded in the thirteenth century, but altered several times in the seventeenth and eighteenth when enriched with carved wooden altars. Surrounded by rolling green hills, the town of Felino is worth a visit, even if it were to enjoy its rich cuisine and taste the salami Felino which owes its international fame: already in 1822 Marie Louise, wife of Napoleon, she noticed during the edict, she established the market of Felino, the precious production of cured meats in the area.